Skip to main content
 Previous Next
  • Zoom In (+)
  • Zoom Out (-)
  • Rotate CW (r)
  • Rotate CCW (R)
  • Overview (h)
Second International Polar Year (1932-33): Encyclopedia Arctica 7: Meteorology and Oceanography
Stefansson, Vilhjalmur, 1879-1962

Second International Polar Year (1932-33)

(Folizia Scyd)


The Second International Polar Year (1932-1933) was a repetition of the
First International Polar Year (q.v.) on a larger scale and with extended aims.
Launched at the initiative of the International Meteorological Organization
(Copenhagen 1929) and with the co-operation of the International Geodetic and
Geophysical Union, it [: ] represented an intensive and extensive effort to secure
synchronous meteorological and magnetic data on a world-wide scale. A large net–
work of observing stations, covering a wide belt of latitudes including the
tropical, was established. Besides the usual meteorological and magnetic obser–
vations there were studies of the upper atmospheric layers and of atmospheric
electricity, continuous photographic registration of the general activities of
the earth’s magnetic field and investigations of the relationship between
atmospheric electrical disturbance and synchoronous meteorological features and
between atmospheric pressure variations and magnetic disturbance. Some research
in the field of oceanography and biology was carried out. The time of observation
we again limited to one year, 1932-33. The following countries established
Austria : Jan Mayen and about 60 stations in Austria.
Canada : Aklavik, Fort Norman, Fort Simpson, Coppermine, Chesterfield,
Nottingham Island, Cape Hopes Advance, Resolution Island, all in
northern Canada; and about 15 stations in more southerly latitudes.

EA-Met. Seyd: Second International Polar Year

Denmark : Thule, Upernivik, Umanak, Jakokobshavn, Godhavn, Egedesminde,
Agto, Kornok, Godthaab, Ivigtut, Julianheabb, Nanortalik, all in
West Greenland, and Angmagssalik, and Scoresby Sound in East Green–
land; Snaefellsjökull, Thorshavn, [: ] Sand, and Myggenes in Iceland;
and 17 stations in Denmark.
England : Fort Rae. N.W.T., Canada; Lerwick, Urafirth, Eskda Lemuir, Scotland;
and Tromsö, Norway.
Finland : Utsjoki, Vaitolahti, Petsamo, Inari, Sodankylä, all in Finland.
France : Scoresby Sound, East Greenland; and about 50 stations in southern
Germany : Ursuk, near Ivigtut, West Greenland, with 105 stations in Germany
Holland : Reykjavik, Iceland; Angmagasalik, East Greenland.
Iceland : Reykjavik.
Norway : Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen; Bear Island; Jan Mayen; Myggbukta, Jonsbu,
Storfjord, [: ] Finnsbu, Torgilsbu, all in East Greenland; Fanaraken,
Kjeller, Tromaö, Tenness, Torsvaag, Bossekop, Bodö, Dombas, Lökken,
Trondheim and 8 more stations near Oslo and Kjeller, Norway.
Poland : Bear Island; Tromsö, Norway; and 32 stations in Poland.
Soviet Union : Kandalaksha, Chibinogorsk, Polyarnoe, Umba, Lovosero,
Svyatoi Nos, Kanin Nos, Ingida, Telvissotchnoye, Yogorski Shar,
Vaigach, Malye Karmakuly, Matochkin Shar, Russkaya Gavan, Cape
Zhelanie, Tikhaya Bay, Rudolph Island, Mare-Sale, Cape Drovyanoi,
Novyi Port, Khelmersede, Cyda Yama, Dickson Island, Ust-Yeniseisk,
Dudinka, Igarka, Valochanka, Budanicha, Cape Chelyuskin, Kamenev Island,

EA-Met. Seyd: Second International Polar Year

Khatanga, Cape Nordvik, Sagastyr (Mostyr), Bulun, Tiksi Bay,
Kotelnyi, Yakutsk, Oimekon, Verkhoyansk, Sredne Kolymsk, Nizhne
Kolymsk, Cape Shmidt (Severnyi), Wrangel Island, Uelen, Ust-Belaya,
Olyutorka, Anadyr, Kamenskoye, Bering Island, Petropavlovsk,
Nayakhan, Nagayevo; and 45 other stations, some in Lapland, others in
more southerly latitudes.
Sweden : Longyearbyen, Nordenskiödfjellet, and Sveagruva in Spitsbergen;
Riksgränsen, Abisko, Kiruna, Gällivara, Haparanda, Stensele, Upsala,
Östersund and 14 other stations in Sweden.
Switzerland : Snaefellsjökull in Iceland.
United States : Fairbanks, Nome, Point Barrow, in Alaska; Peary Lodge in Green–
land; and 96 stations in different states of the Union.

Breitfuss, L. Arktis - The Arctic . Dietrich Reimer, Berlin; Sifton, Praed & Co.,

----. “Das Internationale Polar jahr Einst and Jetzt.” Arktis . Vol. 3, No.1/2,
1930, Justus Perthes, Gotha, Germany.

“Circumpolar Stations.” Encyclopedia Britannica , 14th edition, 1929. Vol. 2, p.298.

Commission de l’Ann e é e Polaire 1932-33 : P or ro c e è s-verbaux des s e é ances a à Innsbruck,
September 1931. Secr e é tariat de l’organisation m e é t e é orologique interna–
tionale. No.10 a. Appendice H. p.109 ff. Leyden, 1932.

Fleming, J.A. “Temporary Commission on the Liquidation of the Second International
Polar Year, 1932-33.” The Polar Record , Vol.5, No.40, July, 1950, pp.
621 ff. Scott Polar Research Institute, Cambridge, England.

Mirsky, J. To the North . Viking Press, New York, 1934.

Felizia Seyd
HomeSecond International Polar Year (1932-33) : Encyclopedia Arctica 7: Meteorology and Oceanography
 Text Only
 Text & Inline Image
 Text & Image Viewer
 Image Viewer Only