Princeton Corporation

The Occom Circle

Princeton Corporation

Name (variant)

Corporation at Nassau Hall


Like most of the oldest universities and colleges in the US, and all the members of the Ivy League except Cornell University, Princeton University has a corporation that is chartered in its own right and has the authority to govern the institution, set policy, and grant degrees. Princeton's board is comparatively large: 40 members, including the President of the University, the Trustees, several academic officers, and the Governor of New Jersey. In 1765, when the Connecticut Board of Correspondents of the SSPCK wrote to the Long Island Presbytery for help in defraying Occom's debts, Princeton University was known as Nassau Hall, after the single large building that housed all its activities.


"University Governance." Princeton University.